Rothko String Quartet

  • Joosten Ellée Violin
  • William Overcash Violin
  • Marc Kopitzki Viola
  • Jakob Nierenz Cello

“A picture lives by companionship, expanding and quickening in the eyes of the sensitive observer. It dies by the same token." -  Mark Rothko  

The Rothko String Quartet (RSQ), consisting of Marc Kopitzki (viola), Jakob Nierenz (cello), Joosten Ellée (violin) and William Overcash (violin), was founded in Lüneburg in 2017. The latter specialized in the study of early and contemporary music, which gives the ensemble a high degree of flexibility in dealing with different styles of classical music and enables a wide variety of concert programs. Embodying this stylistic diversity, the RSQ sees it as its task to bring the music of marginalized composers to the fore as well as to bring lesser-known works of classical music history to light.The collaborative spirit of the four young musicians not only shapes their collaboration with contemporary composers and artists from various disciplines, but also their attitude towards each other in rehearsals. In addition to performing newly composed music, the RSQ is interested in dissolving the boundaries between (musical) genres and works with producers, composers, improvisers and educational artists. Important partners include Mirna Bogdanovic and theHolon Trio (jazz), Sadie Weis (visual arts) and dOP (techno), and with its partner PODIUM Esslingen, the RSQ develops exciting concert programs that are performed at major classical music festivals. It performs at the Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele, the Düsseldorf Festival! and the PODIUM Festival Esslingen and celebrates its 2024 debuts at the Schleswig-Holstein Musikfestival, the Thüringer Bachwochen and the Mozartfest Würzburg.